Just announced, the 2018 UTS Learning and Teaching Awards and Citations winners.

The awards recognise the importance of learning and teaching for both undergraduate and postgraduate students within the framework of the UTS model of global practice-oriented education. Aligned with the national teaching and learning awards and citations schemes, many successful applicants have gone on to win national Citations or Teaching Awards.

A big congratulations to all successful recipients, listed below. If you’re on Twitter, please join us in congratulating our winners online.


Pictured: Some of the award and citation recipients after the announcement at the UTS Teaching and Learning Forum. 


Team Teaching Award Winner

Helena Asher-Chiang (Team Leader), Dr Alex Thomson, Naomi Koh Belic

UTS Careers and Science

Building science students’ self-confidence and employability skills through collaborative career development learning.


Team Teaching High Commendation

A/Prof Deborah Edwards (Team Leader), A/Prof Carmel Foley, Meg Hibbins


Scaling support for individual learning journeys in a large Masters capstone to motivate student success.


Individual Teaching Award Winner

Dr Catherine Gorrie


Embedding learning activities in the Biomedical science course that require students to think independently, use their initiative and to be creative.


Early Career Teaching Award Winner

Dr Simon Knight

Transdisciplinary Innovation

Leading learning.futures approaches to data literacy.


Casual Teaching Award Winner

Dr Amir Armanious


For exponential learning and better employability, finance and economics curricula are restructured to enhance students’ skills by thinking critically and working collaboratively using real-world simulations.


Casual Teaching Award – Commendation

John Burke


Bringing theory to life: How a difficult subject became an authentic work-ready opportunity.


Learning.futures Teaching Award Winner

Dr Ann Reich (Team Leader), Dr Donna Rooney, Dr Nick Hopwood, Dr Gregory Martin, Dr Amanda Lizier, Annie Agnew, Dr Jacqui McManus, Catherine Raffaele, and Amy Thomas

Arts & Social Sciences

An innovative whole-of-course design for the Masters of Education (Learning & Leadership): Embedding learning.futures in the whole-of-course curriculum development and learning and teaching


Learning.futures Teaching Award Winner

Dr Nicole Sutton (Team Leader) and Raechel Wight


Try, try and try again: a continuous, collective approach to doing learning.futures.


UTS Model of Learning Award Winner

Dr Julia Prior

Engineering & Information Technology

The Software Development Studio: conception, realisation and a demonstrable educational success.


Social Impact Award Winner

Dr Jane Hunter

Arts and Social Sciences

Building innovative practices in teaching and learning for preservice high school English teachers.


Indigenous Professional Capabilities High Commendation

Dr Campbell Drake (Team Leader), Allan Teale and Michael Day

Design, Architecture & Building

On Country Learning: The integration of Indigenous cultural competencies and professional capabilities for second-year Interior Architecture students in Spatial Agency Design Studios.



  • A/Prof Beth Goldblatt (Team Leader), Rachel Coventry – Law
  • Dr Cherie Lucas (Team Leader), Dr Caleb Ferguson, Carolyn Hayes, Dr Tamara Power – Graduate School of Health and Faculty of Health
  • Lorely Aponte Ortiz – Arts & Social Sciences
  • Dr Kristine McGrath (Team Leader), Dr Jacqueline Melvold, Dr Renee Dowse – Science
  • A/Prof Maurizio Labbate (Team Leader), Dr Yvonne Davila, Neela Griffiths – Science and IML
  • Penny Hooper– Arts & Social Sciences
  • Dr Sean Walsh (Team Leader), Dr Adam Morgan– Science and IML

Save the date

We’ll celebrate all recipients at the UTS Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Ceremony next year on Monday 25 March 2019, commencing at 4 pm. The evening will feature a keynote presentation and all award winners will showcase a short summary of their work. All award winners, their families and friends, and all interested staff are invited to join, so please save the date.

Details and registration to come early 2019.

Photography credit: Matt Vella

Join the discussion