Just announced, the 2020 UTS Learning and Teaching Awards and Citations winners. 

The awards recognise the importance of learning and teaching for both undergraduate and postgraduate students within the framework of the UTS model of global practice-oriented education. 

A big congratulations to all successful recipients. If you’re on Twitter, please join us in congratulating our winners online

Pictured: Some of the award and citation recipients after the announcement at the online UTS Learning and Teaching Forum.


Individual Teaching Award
Dr Katherina Petrou
Faculty of Science
For enabling student ownership of learning in Marine Biology. 

Team Teaching Award
Associate Professor Mary Coupland (team lead), Faculty of Science; Dr Marco Angelini, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology; Dr Hadiya Valiyaveettil Mohammed Ashraf, Faculty of Science; Pranati Balijepalli, Faculty of Science; Dr Nahid Banihashemi, Faculty of Science; Coral Connor, Institute for Interactive Media and Learning; Karyn Fitzgerald, Faculty of Science; Rory Green, Postgraduate Learning Design Team; Neela Griffiths, Institute for Interactive Media and Learning; Venkata Valli Visali Kadiyala, Faculty of Science; Professor Paul Kennedy, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology; Dr Simon Knight, Transdisciplinary Innovation; Dr Cat Kutay, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology; Dr Maria Lobytsyna, Faculty of Science; Dr Jenna Price, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences; Dr Usha Sridhar, Faculty of Science; and Dr Stephen Woodcock, Faculty of Science
For developing students’ skills in quantitative literacy and critical thinking.  

Integration of Indigenous Professional Capabilities into Curriculum Award 
Dr Tamara Power (team lead), Faculty of Health, Gabriel Clark, Faculty of Design, Architecture and Building, and Dr Danièle Hromek, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences 
For facilitating institutional reflection on Aboriginal sovereignty. 

Strengthening the UTS Model of Learning Award
Dr Susanne Pratt (team lead), Dr Giedre Kligyte and Claire Marshall 
Transdisciplinary Innovation 
For transforming Bachelor of Creative Intelligence and Innovation students into transdisciplinary futures-thinkers. 

Contribution to Social Impact in Learning and Teaching Award
Ian Higgins 
UTS Business School 
For boosting UTS Alumni learning through real-life board experience. 

Teaching by a Casual or Sessional Staff Member Award 
Dr Alexandra Thomson 
Faculty of Science
For putting the “ist” in “scientist” — driving authentic opportunities for curiosity. 

Early Career Teaching Award 
Dr Andrea Giovannetti 
UTS Business School 
For redesigning the course in Behavioural Economics at the Business School to introduce students to the art of abstract thinking by means of a holistic and life-driven approach. 

Early Career Teaching Highly Commended
George Harb  
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences 
For education students to embrace 21st century skills and affect positive change.

Academic Support Award 
Samantha Berry (team lead), Helena Asher-Chiang, Claudia Cowell, Stephanie Gonzales, Candy Jenkins, Steph Miller and Ruth Wilcock 
UTS Careers Team
For enhancing student employability and confidence with in-curriculum career education.


  • Dr Christopher Bajada (team lead), UTS Business School, Dr Sonika Singh, UTS Business School, Dr Walter Jarvis, UTS Business School, and Rowan Trayler, UTS Business School
  • Timothy Boye, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology 
  • Dr Cherie Lucas (team lead), Dr Carolyn Hayes, Dr Tamara Power, Dr Caleb Ferguson, Dr David Kennedy, Gail Forrest, Professor Bronwyn Hemsley, Dr Amy Freeman-Sanderson and Michelle Courtney-Harris, Faculty of Health  
  • Associate Professor Simon Mitrovic, Faculty of Science
  • Dr Beate Mueller (team lead) and Associate Professor Susan Oguro, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Nina Smith, Faculty of Design, Architecture and Building
  • Dr Linda Steele, Faculty of Law
  • Kristina Vojvoda, UTS Business School 

Join the discussion