The 2022 UTS Learning and Teaching Awards and Citations winners were announced at last week’s Learning and Teaching Forum. These awards recognise the importance of learning and teaching for both undergraduate and postgraduate students within the framework of the UTS model of global practice-oriented education.

A big congratulations to all successful recipients.


Teaching by a Casual or Sessional Staff Member Award

Dr Zozan Balci​
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences​​
For creating inclusive learning spaces through enhancing student belonging.

learning.futures Award (Team)

Dr Blake McLean, Dist/Prof Aaron Coutts, Dr Hugh Fullagar, Michelle Hrlec, ​Dr Katie Slattery, Prof Franco Impellizzeri, A/Prof Mark Watsford, Dr Job Franzen, ​ Dr Andrew Novak​
Faculty of Health
For developing future global leaders in high performance sport.

Contribution to Social Impact and Learning and Teaching Award

Katherine Scardifield​
Faculty of Design Architecture and Building​
For empowering design and science students to become interdisciplinary biodesigners​.

Innovation in Technology Enhanced Learning and Teaching Award​

Dr Gabriela Quintana Vigiola​​
Faculty of Design Architecture and Building​
For empowering students through integrated technology-enhanced online place-based experiences​.

Individual Teaching High Commendation

Dr Annabel Sheehy​
Faculty of Health​
For optimising students’ transitions into and out of undergraduate midwifery higher education​.

Individual Teaching Award

Dr Pernille Christensen​
Faculty of Design Architecture and Building​
For creating industry-ready property practitioners addressing complex urban development challenges​.

Team Teaching Award

Dr Scott Chadwick, Ciara Devlin, Prof Shanlin Fu, Dr Anjali Gupta, ​Dr Mackenzie de la Hunty, Prof Dennis McNevin, Dr Georgina Meakin, Dr Manoranjan Mohanty, Dr Marie Morelato, Dr Sebastien Moret, ​Dist/Prof Claude Roux, Dr Xanthe Spindler, Dr Maiken Ueland, Anna Wood​
Faculty of Science​
For Future Proofing our Forensic Science Professionals​.


Anthony Nasser​, Faculty of Health​
For building leaders of tomorrow: inspiring clinical excellence in physiotherapy students​.

Dr Cecilia Gravina da Rocha​, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology​
For honing early years civil engineering students as all rounded professionals​.

Dr Rachelle Catanzariti​ and Lisa Pont, Faculty of Health​
For transforming pharmacy students’ readiness for hospital practice through simulation.​

Shannon Lin​, Faculty of Health​
For empowering postgraduate health students to provide specialised diabetes education​.

Dr Kasun De Silva Wijayaratna & Dr Michelle Zeibots​, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology​
For improving student learning in the discipline of transport engineering​.

Dr Fahimeh Ramezani​, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology​
For enriching IT students’ learning with a new education technology.

Dr Amara Atif​, Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology​
For empowering IT/IS students to be innovative with authentic assessments​.

Christine Giles, Tom Foran &​ Dr Laura Smith-Khan​, Faculty of Law​
For empowering non-lawyers to overcome barriers to becoming migration advisors​.

Dr Genevieve Wilkinson, ​Industry professor Beth Patterson, Crystal Meikle & Dr Maxine Evers, Faculty of Law​
For empowering law students to master technology for transformational partnerships​.

Miranda Kaye​, Faculty of Law
For promoting social justice through research-inspired learning​.

Join the discussion